144-hour Visa-free Transit for International Travelers During the 16th GTI Asia China Expo
June 13, 2024
155 Read

The 16th GTI Asia China Expo will take place at Area A, China Import and Expo Fair on Sept. 11-13, expecting 10,000 overseas buyers from 65 countries and regions. Nationals from 54 countries who meet the policy requirements and hold a connecting ticket to a third country (region) with a fixed date and seat within 144 hours can apply for visa-free transit in Guangdong. Here are some highlights of the policy.



What is the 144-hour visa-free transit policy?

The 144-hour visa-free transit is one of China’s visa exemption policies provided to eligible foreigners coming from selected countries. Under the 144-hour visa-free transit policy, foreign travelers can enjoy a six-day stay in certain Chinese cities without a visa, provided they come from 54 eligible countries, enter and exit China from eligible ports, stay within the allowed cities and regions, as well as satisfy other requirements.


Which countries are covered by the 144-hour visa-free transit policy?

European Schengen Countries (25)

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Norway


Other European countries (15)

Russia, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia, Albania, Monaco, Belarus


American countries (6)

The United States of America, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile


Oceanian countries (2)

Australia, New Zealand


Asian countries (6)

The Republic of Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, United Arab Emirates, Qatar


Travelers can enter Guangdong via its three airports

Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport,

Shenzhen Bao’an International Airport,

And Jieyang Chaoshan International Airport

- and exit via the province’s 32 ports.


The list of 32 ports in Guangdong Province


Airports (5)

Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport, Shenzhen Bao'an International Airport, Meizhou Airport, Zhanjiang Airport, Jieyang Chaoshan Airport


Railway ports (4) (Not restored or closed)

Guangzhou Tianhe Railway, Dongguan Railway, Foshan Railway, Zhaoqing Railway


Highway ports (8)

Shenzhen's Wenjindu, Shatoujiao, Huanggang, Luohu, Shenzhen Bay, Futian; Zhuhai's Gongbei, Hengqin


Harbor ports (15)

Guangzhou Port, Nansha Port, Lianhuashan Port, Shekou Wharf, Shenzhen Airport Supporting Wharf, Jiuzhou Port, Wanzai, Wanshan Port, Doumen Port, Jiangmen Port, Heshan Port, Foshan Gaoming Port, Rongqigang Port, Zhongshan Port, Dongguan Humen Port


Applying for 144-hour visa-free transit policy at Baiyun Airport

After landing at Baiyun Airport, passengers need to hold a passport or other international travel documents valid for no less than three months, a connecting ticket (including air ticket, ship ticket, and train ticket) to a third country (region), a hotel reservation form, fill out the "Arrival Card For Temporary Entry Foreigners," and submit it to apply for 144-hour visa-free transit. After approval, they will be allowed to have a temporary stay without a Chinese visa for 6 consecutive days after their entry.


Under what circumstances can the 144-hour visa-free transit be denied?

The immigration officers at the border may refuse to issue you a temporary entry permit in any of the following circumstances: 

· If you are not allowed to enter China under Chinese laws or administrative regulations; 

· If your passport or other international travel document is expiring in less than three months, or contains a previous stamp of rejection by a Chinese visa-issuing agency; 

· If you have previously illegally entered or exited China, illegally resided in China, or illegally worked in China in the last five years; 

· If you have a record of violating accommodation registration regulations in the last two years, and the circumstances were considered “severe”;

If you are not going to a third country after leaving China as the visa-free transit policy applies only to travelers bound for a third country and therefore transiting through China.

The 144-hour visa-free policy is not applicable to crew members of international aircraft or ships or their accompanying family members.

If you have any questions, please call the 12367 service hotline of the National Immigration Administration, which is available 24 hours a day for immigration policy advice.

Download English version

144-hour Visa-free Transit for International Travelers.pdf